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Memo 

 

To:  Manufacturers of Prescribed Products 

 

From:  Wendy Morgan, Chief of the Public Protection Division 
  Kate Whelley McCabe, Assistant Attorney General  
  Vermont Office of the Attorney General 
 

Date:  May 12, 2011 

 

Subject: 2011 Legislation and Guide  

 

Legislation:  The Vermont legislature has passed legislation amending the law on prescribed 
products.  The final version of the bill has not yet been posted, and has not yet been signed by the 
Governor, but appears in the Senate Journal for May 6, 2011, on pages 2080-2091.  

The important changes, effective July 1, 2011, unless otherwise noted are: 
• Reporting is moved to a calendar year; reports are due to the Attorney General by April 

1; the Attorney General will report by October 1; with a transition six-month reporting 
period and $250 fee for July 1, 2011 through December 31, 2011.  

• Manufacturers whose prescribed products are only certain Class I medical devices do 
not fall within the law.  18 V.S.A. § 4631a(a)(9). 

• Research, such as marketing research or surveys, which does not fall within the 
allowable expenditures for clinical trials and scientific research, §§ 4631a(a)(1)(C) and 
(D), is banned.  § 4631a(c). 

• Patient assistance programs (PAPs) are not within the definition of “sample,” 
§ 4631a(a)(13), are a permitted gift, § 4631s(b)(2)(I), and need not be reported.  
§ 4632(a)(1)(A)(vii).  

• Expenses for manufacturers’ employees health care are allowed, § 4631a(a)(1)(G), and 
need not be reported.  § 4632(a)(1)(A)(iv). 

• Delayed reporting for clinical trials is extended to four years and for new uses of an 
FDA-approved prescribed product. § 4632(a)(1)(A)(iii). 

• Trial period for loans of medical devices is extended to 120 days, and need not be 
reported in all circumstances.  § 4631a(b)(2)(B); § 4632(a)(1)(A)(vi). 

• Effective January 1, 2012, over-the-counter drugs and medical devices permitted by 
§ 4631a(b)(2)(A) are to be reported; the Attorney General will not disclose the identity of 
individual recipients to the public.  § 4632(a)(1)(B). 
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• Members of the Green Mountain Care board, established as part of Vermont’s health care 
reform package, are treated similarly to health care providers for purposes of the gift ban 
and reporting.  §§ 4631a(a)(5) and (b)(1); § 4632(a)(1). 

 
Reporting of Distributions through Patient Assistance Programs:  We will not require 
reporting of PAP for past years, including FY2011, even though the statutory provision 
eliminating PAP reporting does not go into effect until July 1, 2011.   
 
2011 Guide and Conference Call:  We hope to have a draft 2011 Guide incorporating the 2011 
Samples Guide distributed by early June, and to hold a conference call on June 16 at 1pm EST.  
If possible, please send your questions in advance to prescribedproducts@atg.state.vt.us.  We 
plan to issue the final 2011 Guide by July 1, 2011. 
 
FY2011 Compliance Officer Form and $500 fee:  Companies which will have expenditures to 
report for FY2011 (July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011), must file a new Compliance Officer 
Form and pay the $500 annual reporting fee by July 1, 2011.   
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