CONTACT: Justin Kolber, Assistant Attorney General, 802-828-5620
The Attorney General’s Office settled with four landlords in Vermont for violations of consumer protection and lead laws. Vermont’s lead law protects all Vermonters, especially children, from the harmful effects of lead poisoning. Every landlord with pre-1978 rental properties is required to submit annual compliance statements which show that the landlords have performed the essential maintenance practices (known as EMPs) and the properties are in compliance with the lead law.
Charles Desautels, owner of thirteen rental properties in Richford and Enosburg Falls, will pay a $5,000 penalty for failing to file annual EMP compliance statements after notice and warning. Gordon Watson, owner of four rental properties in the Barre City area, will pay a $3,500 penalty for failing to file EMP statements after notice and warning. David Bushey, owner of seven rental properties in St. Albans, was assessed a $5,000 penalty for failing to file EMP statements after notice and warning. Christopher Wilk, owner of 1 property in Rutland, was assessed a $5,000 penalty for falsely certifying that his property was lead compliant when it was not. All four landlords must bring their properties into full compliance with the lead law.
For more information concerning the Vermont lead law, including the duties of property owners, and for copies of court documents from recent enforcement actions involving lead, see the Attorney General’s website at: http://www.ago.vermont.gov and click on “Lead.”
Last modified: January 19, 2018