en English
ar Arabiczh-CN Chinese (Simplified)nl Dutchen Englishfr Frenchde Germanit Italianpt Portugueseru Russianes Spanish

Office of the Vermont Attorney General

Vermont Along with Fourteen States and Cities Calls for the Swift Adoption of National Air Pollution Controls for Motor Vehicles

July 2, 2013

CONTACT: Thea, Schwartz, (802) 828-3186

July 2, 2013

Vermont, as part of a coalition of fifteen states and cities, calls for the federal Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to swiftly adopt its proposed rule, Tier 3 Motor Vehicle Emission and Fuel Standards. The Tier 3 Standards will improve air quality by reducing smog-producing pollution from motor vehicles by 80% and soot pollution by 70%. “Passenger cars and trucks are a significant source of smog and soot,” Attorney William H. Sorrell said, “EPA is taking a common-sense and cost-effective approach to curbing their emissions. Not only Vermonters, but all Americans, particularly, children, the elderly and those vulnerable to respiratory and heart disease, will benefit from the reduction of smog and soot pollution emitted from motor vehicles.”

The Tier 3 Standards will cut air pollution emissions in an amount equivalent to taking 33 million of today’s vehicles off the road during the 2017 and 2025 period of the rule’s applicability. The standards will benefit public health and are expected to prevent thousands of cases of respiratory illness, asthma attacks, and premature deaths each year.

The proposed rule would set new emission standards for passenger cars, light-duty trucks and certain medium-duty and heavy-duty vehicles beginning in 2017. The proposed rule’s tailpipe standards limit emissions of smog-producing nitrogen oxides and volatile organic compounds and soot and would be phased in between 2017 and 2025. Proposed standards reducing sulfur content of motor vehicle fuels would go into effect in 2017.

In addition to Vermont, including the Agency of Natural Resources, the coalition includes Attorneys General of Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, and the District of Columbia, and the Corporation Counsels of New York City and Chicago.

Last modified: March 14, 2018