
MAXIMUM TOWING CHARGES
APPROVED BY COMMISSIONER OF MOTOR VEHICLES

ON THE WEB AT ct.gov/dmv
HOURS OF OPERATIONS

POST IN A CONSPICUOUS PLACE
K-11 REV. 4- 2023

The base tow charge for vehicles under 10,000 lbs. G.V.W.R. includes, at no extra
cost to the consumer, all services necessary to prepare the vehicle for the tow, up
to 15 minutes of wait time by the wrecker at the scene, clean-up of the scene, the
removal, installation or re-installation of any movables including loose or
separated vehicle parts, the cleaning of any equipment used to perform the
towing, the release of the vehicle, and two miles of the tow (loaded miles).

Exceptional services shall mean the use of special equipment such as cutting
torches, air compressors and other equipment not generally required for towing
or transporting services, at the scene of an accident.

BUSINESS NAME DEALER/REPAIRER LICENSE NUMBER

BUSINESS TELEPHONE NUMBERBUSINESS ADDRESS (Number and Street) (City or Town) (State) (Zip Code)

CHARGES AND ADDITIONAL MILEAGE RATES

THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE APPLIES:  If winching or exceptional services are performed.

LESS THAN
10,000 LBS. G.V.W.R.

HEAVY DUTY
10,000 TO 26,000 LBS. G.V.W.R.

HEAVY DUTY
OVER 26,000 LBS. G.V.W.R.

TOW TOW TOW

BASE
CHARGE

MILEAGE
CHARGE

Hourly charge for
labor as posted in

accordance with the
Regulations of

Connecticut State
Agencies §14-65j-3

THESE CHARGES
MUST BE DOCUMENTED

THESE CHARGES
MUST BE DOCUMENTED

THESE CHARGES
MUST BE DOCUMENTED

LESS THAN
10,000 LBS. G.V.W.R.

(If winching or exceptional services are
performed)

HEAVY DUTY 10,000 TO
26,000 LBS. G.V.W.R.

(For exceptional services only)

HEAVY DUTY
OVER 26,000 LBS. G.V.W.R.

(For exceptional services only)

The rates and charges posted cover NONCONSENSUAL TOW charges based on distance and vehicle weight.

NONCONSENSUAL TOW - Means the towing of a motor vehicle, in accordance with the provisions of Section 14-145
of the Connecticut General Statutes (trespass tow), or for which arrangements are made by order of a law
enforcement officer or traffic authority, as defined in Section 14-297 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

BASE TOW CHARGE - Means charges including  preparation of the vehicle for tow to the ultimate destination and
two miles with the vehicle in tow (loaded miles).  Hourly charges for vehicles 10,000 lbs. and over, include vehicle
recovery and all mileage while towing or transporting a vehicle.

TOW CHARGE
$125.00

Includes mileage to scene and
two loaded miles.

HOURLY RATE
(Recovery Included)

$240.00/hr
Minimum 1 hour charge
(15 minute increments

charge thereafter.)

HOURLY RATE
(Recovery Included)

$390.00/hr
Minimum 1 hour charge
(15 minute increments

charge thereafter.)

NONENONE
$5.65

Per mile in excess of
two (2) loaded miles.
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