
Vermont Attorney General’s  
Security Breach 14-Day Preliminary Notice Affirmation 

To waive the data breach 14-day preliminary notice requirement set forth in 9 V.S.A. § 

2435(b)(3)(A)(i), submit a sworn affirmation in the following form to 

data.security@atg.state.vt.us.  Please be aware that in submitting this sworn affirmation to the 

Office of the Attorney General, you are averring that the following facts are true subject to 

penalties of perjury. 

 

I, [NAME], am the [POSITION (i.e. Chief Security Officer, General Counsel, Chief Compliance 

Officer, Chief Executive Officer] for [COMPANY].   

Pursuant to 9 V.S.A. § 2435(b)(3)(A)(ii), I hereby affirm the following, based on my personal 

knowledge:  

1. I have read Vermont’s security breach notification statute, 9 V.S.A. §§ 2430 and 2435, or 

I have had it explained to me by legal counsel. 

 

2. My company has written policies and procedures to maintain the security of personal 

information that my company collects. 

 

3. My company has written policies and procedures to respond to a security breach in a 

manner consistent with Vermont law. 

 

4. I have authority to ensure that my company’s policies and procedures regarding the 

security of personal information and responses to security breaches are properly implemented. 

 

5. I understand that, under Vermont law, my company is required to notify Vermont 

consumers of a security breach that includes their personally identifiable information in the 

most expedient time possible and without unreasonable delay, but not later than 45 days after 

our discovery or notification to us of the data breach. 

 

6. I understand that, under Vermont law, my company must notify the Vermont Attorney 

General of the breach prior to notifying Vermont consumers, but that subject to this 

affirmation, the duty to supply such notice within 14 business days of our discovery of the 

breach is waived by the Vermont Attorney General’s Office. 

 

7. I understand that Vermont’s security breach notification law is enforced under its 

Consumer Protection Act, 9 V.S.A. Chapter 63, which permits penalties not to exceed $10,000 



per violation, and that each consumer affected and each day of non-compliance is a separate 

violation. 

 

Dated at ________________, _____________(town, state) this ___ day of _____, 20__ 

Signed:  _______________________________     

 

Subscribed to and sworn to before me at     (City),  

____________________(State), this ___ day of _____________, 2012. 

  

 

      __________________________________ 

      Notary Public. My commission expires: 

      __________________________________ 


