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1101 16th Street NW #402

Washington, D C 20036

Via Certified Mail, and E-mail to: joxman@electran.org

Re: Illegal Lending in the State of Vermont
Dear Mr Oxman

We are writing to join in the recent efforts of several states to combat illegal
and predatory lending activities,! and to advise you of a specific Vermont law
directly applicable to the payment processors involved in these activities

We believe your organization is in a unique position to help combat
fraudulent transactions involving payment processors. We respectfully request that
ETA advise all payment processors to prevent unauthorized consumer loan
transactions.2 ETA should speafically advise payment processors of Vermont’s law,
and suggest that processors nationwide follow the same guidelines In support of
this request, below we provide background on Vermont’s regulation of lenders and
processors, followed by our suggested proposal

! For example, on August 5, 2013, New York (through its Department of Financial
Services) sent a letter requesting NACHA'’s assistance in combating 1llegal loan activities.

2 While the term “payday loans” is often used to describe the kinds of loans at 1ssue,
there are several types of loans that violate Vermont (or state) law that are not strictly
speaking, “payday loans.” Vermont’s prohibition on “unauthorized or 1llegal lending,” refers
to- (1) payday loans (1.e., loans contingent on future or postdated checks), (ii) any unlicensed
lender who has not obtained the required state license to make loans (including online
lenders); and (111) any loan made in excess of Vermont’s usury cap (ranging from 12-24% per
annum)



I. Vermont’s Regulation of Lenders

Like many states, Vermont regulates several aspects of commercial money
lending, including by" (1) requiring a lender to have a state license, or be a bank or a
credit union, to make loans or even solicit loans (see 8 V.S.A. §§ 2201, 2233(b)), and
(2) capping interest rates at 12-24% annually (see 9 V.S.A. § 41a(b))

Failure to comply with lending laws has wide-ranging and damaging effects
on consumers, in Vermont, and generally As the Center for Responsible Lending
- recently described, payday loans are “designed to trap individuals in long-term
debt” and have a “devastating impact on families’ financial well-being ”3 Contrary
to industry defenses, the loans are not typically used for short-term or emergency
expenses.4 As the CFPB found in its 2013 study on payday loans, most consumers
remain indebted up to a year on these supposed “short-term loans 7%

In Vermont, with a population of less than 630,000, our office has
investigated one lender who funded 384 loans ($197,000 in principal) and earned
$230,000 in interest and fees alone, at an average annualized interest rate over
300%, another lender funded 296 loans ($144,000 1n principal), and earned almost
$145,000 in interest and fees. As to individual examples, one Vermont consumer
complained of taking out a $400 online loan (at over 300% annualized interest) and
paying back over $1,000 within five months (mostly through automatic withdrawals
that required bank intervention), another complained of an online lender depositing
$160 in a small loan to his bank account, and then automatically withdrawing $100
every month in “fees” (resulting in annualized interest of 747%)

In enforcing Vermont law, we have identified over 70 illegal lenders. See
attached Exhibit A. These lenders have been, or will be, directed to cease all
unauthorized lending in Vermont, and to return all monies unlawfully collected
from Vermont consumers. Vermont continues to pursue those lenders who fail to
comply, however, such actions are increasingly insufficient to address the problem

3 See Center for Responsible Lending, “CRL 1ssue Brief,” October 4, 2013, available
at http.//'www.responsiblelending.org/payday-lending/research-analysis/State-Enforcement-
Issue-Brief-10-4-FINAL.pdf

4 See National Consumer Law Center, “Stopping the Payday Loan Trap,” June 2010
(“Various studies have found that 40 to 60% of consumers take out payday loans to cover
routine expenses like utility bills, rent or groceries, or nonessential items”), available at
http://www.ncle.org/images/pdf/high cost small loans/payday loans/report-stopping-
pavday-trap.pdf.

5 See Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Payday Loans and Deposit Advance
Products. A White Paper of Initial Data Findings, April 24, 2013 (p 38), available at
http.//bit.ly/CFPBPaydayPaper




II. Vermont’s Regulation of Payment Processors

As you may be aware, focusing solely on the lenders is often inefficient and
meffective. Many of these lenders operate online, have several affiliated companies,
and change their business names often, all to obscure both their location and the
true lender-in-interest. Other lenders claim tribal immunity or are located off-shore
and in foreign countries, adding further complications for enforcement.

Therefore, Vermont passed legislation in May 2012 making payment
processors directly liable for transactions on behalf of unlicensed or usurious
lenders. Under 9 V.S.A. § 2481w(c), it is.

“an unfair and deceptive act and practice in commerce for a processor,
other than a federally insured depository institution, to process” any
payment “from a consumer’s financial account in connection with a
loan unless the lender” has complied with all lending requirements
of Title 8 of Vermont law

Under the Consumer Protection Act, the Attorney General 1s authorized to
enforce this provision and seek strong remedies, including consumer restitution of
all amounts paid That means a payment processor (who may have received only a
nominal processing fee) would be directly liable for the entire amount processed
from a consumer’s bank account in connection with a loan from an unlicensed or
usurious lender Those transactions add up to significant dollar amounts, especially
since many of them include usurious interest.6 The processors could also be liable
for civil penalties, and subject to an injunction ordering all processing on behalf of
unlicensed lenders to cease in Vermont.

To comply with the above, we understand that payment processors do not
necessarily know the location of borrowers or whether a lender has a required state
license. We do not suggest that processors are responsible for information that they
cannot uncover However, the processors do have consumer bank account and
routing number information, and can easily ascertain the location of the borrower’s
bank Thus, processors can easily comply with Vermont’s law — before processing a
loan payment from a Vermont bank, the processor should require the lender to. (1)
produce a Vermont lender’s license, or (ii) certify that it is not doing business in
Vermont.

Alternatively, and even simpler, the processor could ask any lender signing
up for processing services. “Will you be processing from any Vermont consumers?”
[the lenders know consumer residence/location information] If the answer 1s “yes,”
the processor should require proof of state licensure This protocol should be

6 The typical annual interest rate for unlicensed loans 1s 300%, and often the rates
are even higher



adopted nationwide Similar to the “get to know your customer” due diligence
protocols for banks, processors should “get to know” their client-lenders. In a
typical processing arrangement, the processor 1s well aware that a client 1s
requesting electronic payment processing for loan transactions. A processor need
only ask for proof of state law compliance

As a third alternative, the processor can directly verify licensure, using the
below websites. All lenders who are authorized to lend in Vermont are listed in
either of the following two websites.

(1) The national website hosted by Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System &
Registry:

e http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/ — enter the name of the company
and check for Vermont under “State Licenses/Registrations” results.

(2) Vermont’s state agency website hosted by Dept. of Financial Regulation.

o http.//www.dfr.vermont.gov/banking/verify-license — enter “Licensed
Lender” in the first drop-down box (“Select a license”)

Additionally, Vermont will be sending future alerts of illegal lenders via a
distribution email list. Processors should email. UnlicensedLending-
request@list.state.vt.us, to join the list and receive those monitoring alerts.

III. Vermont’s Request for Assistance

Given 1ts position and oversight of payment processors, ETA is well-suited to
address the payment processing aspect of illegal loan activities.” We request the
following assistance from ETA.

First, we ask that ETA put out an advisory or notice that: (1) announces
Vermont’s unique law, (ii) advises all payment processors of their potential direct
liability should they do business in Vermont on behalf of an illegal lender; (111)
provides the above instructions to check lender compliance in Vermont, and (iv)
attaches “Exhibit A” as a minimum list of all illegal lenders that processors should
cease processing for (or verify before doing any processing) in Vermont. We have

7 According to ETA’s website, “ETA monitors the development and implementation
of regulatory bodies and, where possible, we participate in the regulatory process by
educating and informing agencies regarding our members and their businesses ” See
http.//www .electran.org/advocacy/.




enclosed such a proposed draft advisory, and would be glad to work with you in
revising or drafting the appropriate language.

Second, we suggest that ETA send a broader letter or announcement to 1ts
members and any other relevant bodies, advising payment processors to follow
these practices nationwide. Such announcements would have a strong deterrent
and remedial effect on this very important and growing public concern. We have
also a similar letter to NACHA — the Electronic Payments Association (see
www.nacha.org), and Third-Party Payment Processors Association (see
www.tpppa.org), requesting their assistance in this regard

We understand that ETA will be hosting an educational “Boot Camp”
regarding regulatory enforcement and payment processor liability at the upcoming
“TRANSACT 14” — an industry event April 8-10, 2014 We suggest that the above
items be included in the “Boot Camp” training

We would be happy to discuss our law further and how we can work together
to eradicate illegal and predatory lending. Please contact this office with any
questions. Thank you for your attention.

Sincerely,

4 N ' 4
. / "
/ C . A

Justin E. Kolber
Assistant Attorney General

Enc. Exhibit A — “Vermont Illegal Lender List April 2014”
Proposed draft “Advisory — Alert — Bulletin”



ADVISORY - ALERT — BULLETIN

To: All Payment Processors
From: The Electronic Transactions Association
Date: April 2014

Re: Processing electronic funds transfers in or into Vermont

Please be advised that it is a violation of the Vermont Consumer Protection Act for any
payment processor (other than a bank or credit union) to process electronic funds from consumer

bank accounts in Vermont in connection with a loan, unless the lender is a bank or credit union, or has
a valid state license to lend money in Vermont. The full text of the [aw is copied below-

¢ “Itis an unfair and deceptive act and practice in commerce for a processor, other than a
federally insured depository institution, to process a check, draft, other form of negotiable
instrument, or an electronic funds transfer from a consumer's financial account in connection
with a loan solicited or made by any means to a consumer unless the lender is in compliance
with all provisions of 8 V.S.A. chapter 73 or is otherwise exempt from the requirements of 8
V.S.A. chapter 73.” 9 V.S.A. § 2481w(c).

If you are a payment processor, you are advised to cease processing in Vermont on behalf of the
entities listed in the attached “Exhibit A.” You are further advised to inquire of all lenders who request

your processing services: (1) whether the lender is processing any loans with Vermont consumers; and

if so (2)(a) to produce a Vermont lender’s license, or (b) to provide evidence that they are duly

chartered as a bank or credit union.

You may also verify a non-bank lender’s license yourself, by checking the following websites:

e http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/ — enter the name of the company and check for
Vermont under “State Licenses/Registrations” results.

o hitp://www.dfr.vermont.gov/banking/verify-license — enter “Licensed Lender” in the
first drop-down box (“Select a license”).

IMPORTANT: [f the lender i

>NOUId NOT Process any tunds 1or them involivin

icensed in Vermo .15. you

g Ve [ Domg so would violate section
2481w(c) above and could subject you to sugnlﬁcant Iegal liability, mcludmg financial responsibility for all
amounts processed from a Vermont consumer’s bank account, civil penalties of up to $10,000 per
violation, and injunctive relief. See 3 V.S.A. § 2458.

LASTLY, \ iggest you make similar inquires for all your lending clients nationwide. “Are they
required to have a state license in the states from which they will withdraw money?" “Are they in
compliance with all state requirements for lending activities, such as interest rate caps?” These due
diligence questions are an important part of responsible processing and will help assist in protecting
consumers from fraudulent transactions. THANK YOU.



