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April 22, 2014

To All Vermont Employvers:
A Letter from the Vermont Attorney General

Via Press Announcement

Re: 1Illegal Lending in Vermont
Dear Vermont Employers,

There has been a recent rise 1n illegal and predatory lending activities,
particularly over the Internet. We are writing you in connection with the Attorney
General’s response to the 1ssue, and to request your assistance in these efforts

Financially-distressed consumers are increasingly borrowing high interest,
small-dollar loans from online lenders, with damaging consequences. As the Center
for Responsible Lending recently described, such loans are “designed to trap
individuals in long-term debt” and have a “devastating impact on families’ financial
well-being.”! Contrary to industry defenses, the loans are not typically used for
short-term or emergency expenses 2

In Vermont, our office has investigated one lender who funded 427 loans
(3993,025 in principal), and earned $888,950 in interest and fees alone, at an
average annualized interest rate of 136% As an individual example, one Vermont
consumer complained of taking out a $400 online loan (at over 300% annualized

1 See Center for Responsible Lending, “CRL issue Brief,” October 4, 2013, available
at http.//'www.responsiblelending.org/payday-lending/research-analysis/State-Enforcement-
Issue-Brief-10-4-FINAL.pdf

2 See National Consumer Law Center, “Stopping the Payday Loan Trap,” June 2010
(“Various studies have found that 40 to 60% of consumers take out payday loans to cover
routine expenses like utility bills, rent or groceries, or nonessential items”), available at
http.//'www.nclc.org/images/pdf/high cost small loans/payvday loans/report-stopping-
payday-trap.pdf




interest) and paying back over $1,000 within five months (mostly through
automatic withdrawals from his bank account)

Vermont has strict laws regulating commercial money lending, including by
requiring a state license to lend money (8 V.S.A. § 2201), and capping interest rates
at 12-24% annually (9 V.S.A. § 41a) Vermont also bans “payday loans” (i.e., loan
advances contingent on a postdated check). See 8 V.S.A. § 2519(a)(13)

Despite Vermont’s laws, out-of-state, online lenders often fail to comply with
state law Therefore, the Vermont Attorney General has taken action to address
the illegal lending problem from several angles: enforcing Vermont law against
responsible parties (such as lenders and their processors), and requesting assistance
from those who play a role in the web of illegal lending (such as television networks
and internet providers that advertise for lenders, and financial institutions who can
work more closely with consumers) We have also published consumer tips,
including alternatives to online loans.

We are writing to request that all Vermont employers consider
offering salary advances for their employees. This would provide a legal,3 low
cost, and more financially-secure alternative for cash-strapped consumers. By
offering salary advances on reasonable terms (such as allowing repayment plans
over a limited number of months), you would be providing a tremendous benefit to
Vermont consumers, and helping to diminish a growing public policy problem

For example, the United Way of Chittenden County has implemented a
successful income advance loan program under its “Working Bridges” employer
collaborative program The “Working Bridges” loan program connects employers
and financial institutions, to help employees meet emergency needs, begin savings
and build credit. Please consider this program by visiting:
http.//www.unitedwaycc.org/resources-for-companies/working-bridges/

Please feel free to contact me with any questions or suggestions for how we
might better protect Vermonters. Thank you for your assistance

Sincerely,
Justin E. Kolber
Assistant Attorney General

3 If the employer is not charging any interest or fee for the advance (i.e., the
employer only requires repayment of the exact amount advanced), then it is not a loan If
the employer receives some compensation (i.e., charges a fee or interest), then under 8
V.S.A. § 2201(d)(1), no lending license 1s required for anyone who lends an aggregate of no
more than $75,000 in one year at interest rates of no more than 12%
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