Skip to main content

Teva, Allergan, CVS, and Walgreens Finalize Opioid Settlement Agreements

June 9, 2023

Vermont to Receive $46.4 million to Fight the Opioid Crisis

Attorney General Charity Clark today announced the final approval of opioid agreements with drug makers Teva and Allergan and pharmacies CVS and Walgreens. Following successful state sign-on and subdivision sign-on periods, the defendants have committed to the multi-state deal of $17.3 billion and will start releasing funds to a national administrator later this summer. Vermont will receive $46.4 million over 15 years from its share of the agreements. Money is expected to start flowing to state and local governments by the end of 2023.

“I am very pleased that Vermont will receive additional funding from the opioid industry to address the devastating effects of the opioid crisis on our communities,” said Attorney General Clark. “Over prescription and overuse of these highly addictive medications have wreaked havoc on Vermont families, and my office has and will continue to hold bad actors accountable for the incalculable damage done to our state.”

The settlements will also require Teva’s opioid business to provide stringent injunctive relief that, among other things, will prevent all opioid marketing and ensure systems are in place to prevent drug misuse. Additionally, Allergan is required to stop selling opioids for the next 10 years. CVS and Walgreens have agreed to injunctive relief that requires the pharmacies to monitor, report, and share data about suspicious activity related to opioid prescriptions. This court-ordered injunctive relief will help ensure a crisis like this does not happen again.

Teva and Allergan negotiations were led by Attorneys General from North Carolina, Iowa, California, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin. CVS and Walgreens negotiations were led by Attorneys General from North Carolina, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and Texas.


CONTACT:    Lauren Jandl, Chief of Staff, 802-828-3171